Additional Resources

Narrative & Storytelling

Case Studies, Tips & Examples, The Opportunity Agenda: https://toolkit.opportunityagenda.org/narrative/more

It Gets Better Project: https://itgetsbetter.org/stories/

En La Viña del Señor: http://xn–enlaviadelseor-vnbg.com/

Framing for Activists, George Lakoff: https://georgelakoff.com/framingforactivists/

“How the American Cancer Society Learned to Touch Hearts to Boost Donations,” Carmine Gallo, Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/sites/carminegallo/2018/11/19/how-the-american-cancer-society-learned-to-touch-hearts-to-boost-donations/#265045296203

Audience & Messaging

How To Run Focus Groups, Citizens Advice: https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/Global/CitizensAdvice/Equalities/How%20to%20run%20focus%20groups%20guide.pdf

A Guide for Planning, Organizing, and Managing Focus Groups, the Puget Sound Consortium for Manufacturing Excellence: https://www.shoreline.edu/pscme/reports/Y4/FocusGroupGuide.pdf

Top Ten Tips for Great Focus Groups, The Experience Business: http://www.theexperiencebusiness.co.uk/downloads/content-docs/top_ten_tips.pdf

Tips for Facilitating Focus Groups, Center for the Promotion of Health in the New England Workplace: https://www.uml.edu/docs/FG%20Tips%20sheet_RK_tcm18-167588.pdf

Google Trends: https://trends.google.com/trends/explore

Platforms

“Google Thinks the Future of the Web Is…Email,” Mark Wilson, Fast Company: https://www.fastcodesign.com/90160460/google-thinks-the-future-of-the-web-is-email

Care2: https://www.care2.com/

Change.org: https://www.change.org/

“29 Simple Ways to Grow Your Email List,” Andy Pitre, HubSpot: https://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/32028/25-clever-ways-to-grow-your-email-marketing-list.aspx

Beautiful Trouble: https://beautifultrouble.org/

Hustle texting platform: https://hustle.com/

WhatsApp Uses for Campaigns: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1mGs26iM1aRKnTcTviNizO17VZTLpadKctzK30KtsxYs/edit

Video

OBS Studio, Open Broadcaster Software: https://obsproject.com/

YouTube Creator Academy: https://creatoracademy.youtube.com/page/education

“12 Tips For Crafting Compelling Video Content That Draws More Views”: https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbescommunicationscouncil/2018/07/26/12-tips-for-crafting-compelling-video-content-that-draws-more-views/#53b647664762

“What Video Editing Software Do YouTubers Use”: https://editinginsider.com/youtube/what-video-editing-youtubers-use/

Data Visualization

Storytelling with Data: http://www.storytellingwithdata.com/

“How To Tell a Powerful Story with Data Visualization,” Brian Bimschleger, Telepathy: https://www.dtelepathy.com/blog/business/how-to-tell-a-powerful-story-with-data-visualization

“How To Properly Tell a Story with Data– and Common Pitfalls to Avoid,” Outlier AI, Towards Data Science: https://towardsdatascience.com/how-to-properly-tell-a-story-with-data-and-common-pitfalls-to-avoid-317d8817e0c9

Data Smart Cities Solutions Search: https://datasmart.ash.harvard.edu/civic-analytics-network/solutions-search

“2018 Report: Engaging Your Audience with Visual Content,” The Content Strategist: https://the-content-strategist-13.docs.contently.com/v/2018-report-engaging-your-audience-with-visual-content

Creative Strategies

“#PopJustice: Social Justice and the Promise of Pop Culture Strategies” reports, Liz Mann Strategy: http://www.lizmanne.com/popjustice/

The Laughter Effect, Center for Media & Social Impact, American University School of Communication: http://cmsimpact.org/program/comedy/

Race in the Writer’s Room: How Hollywood Whitewashes the Stories that Shape America, Darnell Hunt: https://hollywood.colorofchange.org/

#IfIwasTheMayor: https://everyvoice.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/IIWTM-casestudy.pdf

The Voter Suppression Trail, Chris Baker, Brian Moore and Mike Lacher, The New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2016/11/01/opinion/voting-suppression-videogame.html

“The Back-of-the-Envelope Guide to Communications Strategy,” Ann Christiano and Annie Neimand, Stanford Social Innovation Review: https://ssir.org/articles/entry/the_back_of_the_envelope_guide_to_communications_strategy?utm_source=Enews&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=SSIR_Now&utm_content=Title

Crisis Communications

Election Cyber Incident Communications Plan Template for Political Parties and Campaigns, International Edition, Harvard Kennedy School Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs: https://www.ndi.org/sites/default/files/International%20CommTemplate%20-%20web%202.pdf

Botcheck.me: https://botcheck.me/

Botometer: https://botometer.iuni.iu.edu/#!/

Digital Security

Digital First Aid Kit, Digital Defenders Partnership: https://www.digitaldefenders.org/digitalfirstaid/

Surveillance Self-Defense, Electronic Frontier Foundation: https://ssd.eff.org/

“Digital Security Resources,” Front Line Defenders: https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/en/digital-security-resources

The Cybersecurity Campaign Playbook, European Edition, Harvard Kennedy School Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs:

https://www.ndi.org/sites/default/files/europeancampaign_playbook-_web.pdf

Citizen Election Observation

Global Network of Domestic Election Monitors (GNDEM): https://gndem.org

Declaration of Global Principles for Nonpartisan Election Observation and Monitoring by Citizen Organizations (DoGP): https://gndem.org/declaration-of-global-principles/

How Domestic Organizations Monitor Elections: an A to Z Guide, National Democratic Institute (NDI): https://www.ndi.org/publications/ndi-handbook-how-domestic-organizations-monitor-elections-z-guide

Systematic Methods for Advancing Election Observation, West Africa Election Observers Network (WAEON) Field Guide Series: https://www.ndi.org/sites/default/files/Systematic%20Methods%20for%20Advancing%20Election%20Observation_WAEON_EN.pdf

Outreach and External Communication, West Africa Election Observers Network (WAEON) Field Guide Series: https://www.ndi.org/sites/default/files/Outreach%20and%20Communication_WAEON_EN.pdf

Open Election Data Initiative: https://www.openelectiondata.net/en/

“Parallel Vote Tabulations,” National Democratic Institute (NDI): https://www.ndi.org/pvt